Skip To Main Content

News Articles

MV Schools Hold Unified Champions Events

Mt. Vernon Community School Corporation (MVCSC) celebrated three Unified Champions field days in May with preschool, elementary, middle and high school students participating in the fun. Unified Champions is a Special Olympics program that engages schools in creating climates of inclusion, acceptance, respect and human dignity for ALL students. Students with and without disabilities competed on the same teams to provide an inclusive environment where every student participates regardless of athletic, intellectual, ambulatory or functional abilities.

MV Schools Awarded PLTW Distinction

Fortville Elementary, McCordsville Elementary, Mt. Comfort Elementary and Mt. Vernon Middle School have been recognized as Project Lead The Way (PLTW) Distinguished Schools for the 2022-2023 school year for providing broad access to transformative learning opportunities for students. The elementary schools are three of 492 schools across the U.S. to receive the honor of being a PLTW Launch school, while MVMS is one of just 212 schools to receive the honor of being a PLTW Gateway school. All four of these schools are retaining this distinction from last year.

TOY/SOY winners

Mt. Vernon Community School Corporation is proud to share this year’s district winners of Teacher of the Year (TOY) Mrs. Karen Riesterer, Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher at Mt. Vernon High School, and Staff of the Year (SOY) Mrs. Wendy Mayo, Instructional Assistant at Mt. Comfort Elementary!  Both winners were recognized at the Mt. Vernon Education Foundation’s Black and Gold Gala in early April.

Out-of-District/Transfer Application

All students who live out-of-district and are interested in attending or are currently attending a Mt. Vernon school are also required to submit an application during either of these selected windows to attend a Mt. Vernon school during the 2023-2024 school year. If you live in any MVCSC enrollment area, you do NOT need to complete this application.

Mt. Vernon Supports Our Staff!

Did you know that besides our wonderful PTO’s supporting all our hard-working staff, MVCSC is also trying to support our staff’s whole-person wellness? From setting up a staff coffee bar to each school to offering a discounted wellness membership through a Hancock Health partnership, to hiring 12 new behavioral coaches, to a free financial planning platform – supported by our Mt. Vernon Education Foundation – supporting our staff during stressful times is a high priority.

Walmart Welcome

Thanks to the Mt. Vernon Education Foundation's outreach, nearly 100 department leads from the new Walmart distribution center recently volunteered at Mt. Vernon schools. On Read Across America Day, the Walmart employees enjoyed playing dodgeball with young students, engaged with students during lunch and recess duties, and of course read to students.

Hancock County Promise Event Held at MV, Awards Local Kindergarteners

The Promise Indiana Hancock County program recently celebrated another successful year of enrolling hundreds of kindergarteners in their own personal College Choice 529 Plan. The PI Hancock County program aims to foster a community-wide culture where all students have the opportunity to open a CollegeChoice 529 Direct Savings Account, which assures that students have a college savings account at an early age. The program strives to ensure every student believes they can have a post-secondary education and has their community’s support.

"Kids Riding Bikes" Program Comes to FES

A bike safety initiative from the Town of Fortville developed into an engaging learning experience for all of Fortville Elementary students. After the Community Foundation of Hancock County chose to pilot and sponsor the bike safety program, Fortville Elementary School (FES) partnered with Nine13Sports to bring their “Kids Riding Bikes'' program to Mt. Vernon for the very first time. This program aims to teach students how riding bikes can be beneficial in many ways, by giving them a fun and engaging experience right in their own gymnasium!

FES Students Create Gingerbread Replica of Fortville

The Fortville Elementary School (FES) fourth grade students utilized a number of STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art and mathematics) applications to create a Town of Fortville gingerbread replica. Students were placed into small groups and assigned a business to research, prepare a report and create a gingerbread visual. All buildings were then connected to create a delicious replica of Main Street along with various parks and Mt. Vernon schools in Fortville. 

FGP 2022 update

Superintendent Dr. Jack Parker shared an enrollment update at the recent MVCSC Board of Trustees meeting. A few key points include that our enrollment has had a little slower growth than predicted in the 2019 demographer's report. There are likely a number of reasons for the slower growth which could include the impact of a pandemic, the supply of building materials available to builders, inflation and potentially many more. 

MV Schools Hold Veterans Day Events

Mt. Vernon appreciates those who have served! The three Mt. Vernon elementary schools and the middle school held convocations which emphasized the sacrifices made by the veterans. The convocations included student-led patriotic songs, speeches, poems, decorations, and parades. Veterans in attendance greatly appreciated the well-deserved recognition.

MV Hosts "Realtors Breakfast" Event

MVCSC recently hosted local realtors and builders in the community at an engaging breakfast where they learned more information about Mt. Vernon. Attendees also enjoyed student entertainment, played a game and trivia, won prizes, listened to a presentation from Dr. Parker and also heard from the Cumberland and McCordsville Town Managers. Mt. Vernon resources were also shared with realtors in an effort to help sell listings.

MVCSC Receives Bayer Fund Grand Thanks to a Local Farmer

 The America’s Farmers Grow Communities program, a Bayer Fund program, partners with farmers to provide grants to local nonprofits and schools to help their communities. Through the program, farmers enroll for the chance to direct a $5,000 donation to a local eligible nonprofit organization or school of their choice. Local farmer, Bob Cook, recently directed a $5,000 Bayer Fund America's Farmers Grow Communities donation to the Mt. Vernon Community School Corporation (MVCSC) and was recognized at a summer Board of Trustees meeting. The funds will be directed to Mt. Vernon High School programming.

All Five MVCSC Schools Receive a Highly Effective Schools Accreditation

For the second year in a row, all five schools in the Mt. Vernon Community School Corporation have earned a Highly Effective Schools Accreditation from Solution Tree. This accreditation is a significant achievement that reflects all five schools’ commitment to reaching and maintaining the highest levels of educational quality. Mt. Vernon High School, Mt. Vernon Middle School, Fortville Elementary School, McCordsville Elementary School, and Mt. Comfort Elementary School earned this accreditation by maintaining and growing identified areas having the biggest impact on student learning and growth. These areas are directly aligned to the Professional Learning Communities at work® (PLC) process and the High Reliability Schools framework.